You are here

Evolutionary Psychology

Evolutionary Psychology

2016 Impact Factor: 1.243
2016 Ranking: 67/84 in Psychology, Experimental
Source: 2016 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2017); Indexed in PubMed: MEDLINE

Todd K. Shackelford Oakland University, USA

Other Titles in:

eISSN: 14747049 | ISSN: 14747049 | Current volume: 15 | Current issue: 2
Evolutionary Psychology publishes original empirical research on human psychology and behavior that is guided by an evolutionary perspective. Evolutionary psychology is an interdisciplinary field and, therefore, the Journal welcomes submission from across the social, behavioral, and life sciences.

This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Evolutionary Psychology publishes original, empirical research addressing human psychology guided by an evolutionary perspective. The Journal welcomes relevant submissions from all the social, behavioral, and life sciences, with a premium on submissions that do not exceed 5,000 words, all-inclusive.

Todd K. Shackelford Oakland University, USA
Bernhard Fink University of Göttingen, Germany
David A. Puts Pennsylvania State University, USA
Rebecca Sear London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
Associate Editors
Menelaos Apostolou University of Nicosia, Cyprus
Kevin M. Beaver Florida State University, USA
April L. Bleske-Rechek University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
Darren Burke University of Newcastle, Australia
Christine A. Caldwell The University of Stirling, UK
Robert O. Deaner Grand Valley State University, USA
Harald A. Euler University of Kassel, Germany
Laurence Fiddick Lakehead University, Canada
Carey Fitzgerald University of South Carolina, USA
Gordon G. Gallup, Jr. University at Albany, USA
Peter Gray University of Nevada, Las Vegas, USA
Russell Jackson University of Idaho, USA
Sarah Johns University of Kent, UK
Kevin Kniffin Cornell University, USA
Debra Lieberman University of Miami, USA
Boguslaw Pawlowski University of Wroclaw, Poland
Michael Bang Petersen Aarhus University, Denmark
George B. Richardson University of Cincinnati, USA
Achim Schützwohl Brunel University, UK
Kenny Smith University of Edinburgh, UK
Joshua M. Tybur VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands
Jennifer Vonk Oakland University, USA
Bridget M. Waller University of Portsmouth, UK
Andreas Wilke Clarkson University, USA
Editorial Board Members
John Archer University of Central Lancashire, UK
David P. Barash University of Washington, USA
Simon Baron-Cohen University of Cambridge, UK
H. Clark Barrett University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Louise Barrett University of Lethbridge, Canada
Patrick Bateson University of Cambridge, UK
Mark Bellis Liverpool John Moores University, UK
Iris Berent Northeastern University, USA
Laura L. Betzig University of Michigan, USA
David F. Bjorklund Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton, Florida
Paul Bloom Yale University, USA
Rebecca Burch State University of New York, Oswego, USA
Gordon M. Burghardt University of Tennessee, USA
David M. Buss University of Texas at Austin, USA
Richard W. Byrne University of St Andrews, UK
Peter Carruthers University of Maryland, USA
Elizabeth Cashdan University of Utah, USA
Napoleon Chagnon University of Missouri at Columbia
James S. Chisholm University of Western Australia, Australia
Jae C. Choe Ewha Woman’s University, South Korea
Noam Chomsky Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Helena Cronin London School of Economics, UK
Frans B. M. de Waal Emory University, USA
Daniel C. Dennett Tufts University, USA
Robin Dunbar University of Oxford, UK
John E. Edlund Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
Daniel M. T. Fessler University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Helen E. Fisher Rutgers University, USA
Maryanne L. Fisher Saint Mary’s University, Canada
Mark Flinn University of Missouri at Columbia
Francis Fukuyama Johns Hopkins University, USA
Andrew C. Gallup SUNY College at Oneonta, USA
Steven W. Gangestad University of New Mexico, USA
David C. Geary University of Missouri, USA
Paul Gilbert Kingsway Hospital, Derby, UK
Aaron T. Goetz California State University, Fullerton, USA
Ursula W. Goodenough Washington University at St. Louis, USA
Karl Grammer University of Vienna, Austria
Sam Harris Project Reason
Toshikazu Hasegawa University of Tokyo, Japan
Elizabeth M. Hill University of Detroit Mercy, USA
Kim Hill Arizona State University, USA
Mariko Hiraiwa-Hasegawa University of Tokyo, Japan
Lawrence A. Hirschfeld New School for Social Research, USA
Nicholas Humphrey London School of Economics, UK
Ben Jones University of Glasgow, UK
Douglas T. Kenrick Arizona State University, USA
Timothy Ketelaar New Mexico State University, USA
Lee A. Kirkpatrick College of William and Mary, USA
Dietrich Klusmann University Clinic Hamburg, Germany
Daniel J. Kruger University of Michigan, USA
Barry X. Kuhle University of Scranton, USA
Robert Kurzban University of Pennsylvania, USA
Martin Lalumière University of Ottawa, Canada
Craig W. LaMunyon California State Polytechnic University, USA
Norman Li Singapore Management University, Singapore
Anthony C. Little University of Stirling, UK
Bobbi Low University of Michigan, USA
Neil M. Malamuth University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Jon Maner Northwestern University, USA
Michael E. McCullough University of Miami, USA
Richard L. Michalski Hollins University, USA
Geoffrey Miller University of New Mexico, USA
Michael E. Mills Loyola Marymount University, USA
Steven Mithen University of Reading, UK
Carlos David Navarrete Michigan State University, USA
Daniel Nettle Newcastle University, UK
Richard E. Nisbett University of Michigan, USA
Steven Pinker Harvard University, USA
Ian Pitchford (Founding Editor) University of Huddersfield, UK
Nicholas Pound Brunel University, UK
Virgil Zeigler-Hill Oakland University, USA
  • Clarivate Analytics: Current Contents - Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • Clarivate Analytics: Social Science Citation Index
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Alumni Edition
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Complete
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Elite
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Premier
  • EBSCO: MainFile
  • EBSCO: TOC Premier
  • PsycINFO
  • PubMed: MEDLINE
  • Evolutionary Psychology recommends that authors follow the Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals formulated by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE).

    Evolutionary Psychology is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

    Manuscript Submission

    Please read the Full Submissions Guidelines (PDF) before submitting your manuscript at Please note that manuscripts not conforming to these guidelines may be returned. Only manuscripts of sufficient quality that meet the aims and scope of Evolutionary Psychology will be reviewed.

    Evolutionary Psychology publishes original research articles.

    Article Processing Charge
    If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time Article Processing Charge (APC) is payable. This APC covers the cost of publication and ensures that your article will be freely available online in perpetuity under a Creative Commons license.

    The APC is $395 USD and will be payable upon acceptance.

    Evolutionary Psychology publishes manuscripts under the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial license (CC BY NC), which allows others to re-use the work without permission as long as the work is properly referenced and the use is non-commercial.

    Alternative license arrangements are available, for example, to meet particular funder mandates, made at the author's request.

    More Information

    Visit SAGE's OA licenses page for more information.

    For more details on the Submission Guidelines, contact the Editor at