You are here

Resources to help you transition to teaching online

Instructors: To support your transition to online learning, please see our resources and tools page whether you are teaching in the UK, or teaching outside of the UK.

Inspection copy update April 2020: Due to the current restrictions in place in response to COVID-19, our inspection copy policy has changed. Please refer to our updated inspection copy policy for full details. If you have recently placed an inspection copy order with us, we will be in touch to advise of any changes.

Early Women's Writings in Orissa, 1898-1950

Early Women's Writings in Orissa, 1898-1950
A Lost Tradition

First Edition
Edited by:

December 2004 | 241 pages | SAGE Publications Pvt. Ltd
Based on archival research, this fascinating book brings together many of the neglected writings of Oriya women of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Sachidananda Mohanty focusses on a period when women’s writings dealt not only with questions of gender and identity but also with cultural, political and ideological issues of their times. Utilizing different forms—short stories, poems, essays, travel writings, novels and letters—these women writers responded honestly both to the world that was in turmoil around them and to the demands of their own inner selves. By articulating and advancing the personal in the public and by imbuing the personal with the social and the political, these ‘literary domestics’ transcended their limitations and became the precursors of a tradition that critically examined both traditional values and modern contingencies, yet sought to bring them together to fruition.
Sachidananda Mohanty
Rebati's Sisters

Abanti Rao
Sailabala Das (1875-1968)
Reba Ray (1876-1957)
Kokila Devi (1896-1936)
Narmada Kar (1893-1980)
Pratibha Kar
Suprabha Kar
Rama Devi (1889-1985)
Kuntala Kumari Sabat (1901-1938)
Sarala Devi (1904-1986)
Malati Choudhury (1904-1998)
Nirmala Devi (1906-1986)
Haripriya Devi (1915-1996)
Urmila Devi
Shakuntala Devi
Sushila Devi
Hemalata Mansingh (1919-2004)
Basanta Kumari Pattnaik ( 1923- )
Bidyut Prabha Devi (1926-1977)
Nandini Panigrahi (Satpathy) (1931- )

Preview this book

Select a Purchasing Option

ISBN: 9780761933083