You are here

Digital Review of Asia Pacific 2007/2008

Digital Review of Asia Pacific 2007/2008

First Edition

January 2008 | 398 pages | SAGE India
The biennial Digital Review of Asia Pacific is a comprehensive guide to the state-of-practice and trends in information and communication technologies for development (ICT4D) in Asia Pacific

This third edition (2007-2008) covers 31 countries and economies, including North Korea for the first time. Each country chapter presents key ICT policies, applications and initiatives for national development. In addition, five thematic chapters provide a synthesis of some of the key issues in ICT4D in the region, including mobile and wireless technologies, risk communication, intellectual property regimes and localization.

The authors are drawn from government, academe, industry and civil society, providing a broad perspective on the use of ICTs for human development.
Foreword - Muhammad Yunus
Preface Claude - Yves Charron and Maria Ng Lee Hoon
Introduction - Felix Librero
Issues for the region
ICT4D in Asia Pacific—An overview of emerging issues - Danny Butt, Rajesh Sreenivasan and Abhishek Singh
Mobile and wireless technologies for development in Asia Pacific - Tan Geok Leng and Suranart Tanvejsilp
The role of ICTs in risk communication in Asia Pacific - Krishnamurthy Sriramesh, Chanuka Wattegama and Frederick John Abo
Localization in Asia Pacific - Sarmad Hussain and Ram Mohan
Key policy issues in intellectual property and technology in Asia Pacific - Elizabeth V. Cardoza and Lawrence Liang
State and evolution of ICTs: A tale of two Asias - George Sciadas
Review of individual economies
Afghanistan: - Muhammad Aimal Marjan
Australia: - Lelia Green and Axel Bruns
Bangladesh: - Ananya Raihan and Shah M. Ahsan Habib
Bhutan: - Sangay Wangchuk and Gopi Pradhan
Brunei Darussalam: - Yong Chee Tuan and Hj Abd Rahim Derus
Cambodia: - Brian Unger and Naomi Robinson
China: - Zhang Guoliang, Zhang Xinhua and Deng Jianguo
Hong Kong: - Geoff Long, John Fung and Charles Mok
India: - Frederick Noronha and Sajan Venniyoor
Indonesia: - Donny B.U. and Rapin Mudiardjo
Iran: - Masoud Davarinejad and Massood Saffari
Japan: - Keisuke Kamimura and Adam Peake
Lao PDR: - Phonpasit Phissamay
Malaysia: - Musa Abu Hassan and Mohd Safar Hasim
Maldives: - Malika Ibrahim and Ilyas Ahmed
Mongolia: - Lkhagvasuren Ariunaa and Batpurev Batchuluun
Macau: - Geoff Long
Myanmar: - Thein Oo and Myint Myint Than
Nepal: - Sushil Pandey and Basanta Shrestha
New Zealand: - Andy Williamson
North Korea: - Kyungmin Ko, Seungkwon Jang and Heejin Lee
Pacific Island Countries: - Esther Batiri Williams
Pakistan: - Jamshed Masood and Salman Malik
Philippines: - Lorraine Carlos Salazar, Shelah Lardizabal-Vallarino and Zorayda Ruth Andam
Singapore: - Goh Seow Hiong
South Korea: - Jong Sung Hwang and Jihyun Jun
Sri Lanka: - Nalaka Gunawardene
Taiwan: - Yu-li Liu and Eunice Hsiao-hui Wang
Thailand: - Thaweesak Koanantakool and Kalaya Udomvitid
Timor-Leste: - João Câncio Freitas
Vietnam: - Tran Ngoc Ca and Tran Ba Thai
Review of sub-regional associations
Association of Southeast Asian Nations: - Lorraine Carlos Salazar and Shelah Lardizabal-Vallarino
South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation: - Atanu Garai and Kapil Chawla

For instructors

Please contact your Academic Consultant to check inspection copy availability for your course.

Select a Purchasing Option

ISBN: 9780761936749